Kansas Rural Opportunity Zones

Kansas is filled with the natural beauty, simplicity and communal bonds of rural life. We want you to experience the peace and joy of rural Kansas so much that we’ll even throw in some added bonuses. 

The state of Kansas has designated 95 counties as “Rural Opportunity Zones,” which means moving there comes with significant added benefits. Designated counties offer one or both of the following financial incentives for new full-time residents:





1. Student Loan Repayment Assistance

• Administered By Kansas Department of Commerce (KDC)

• Partners with Counties, Cities, Employers, and Foundations

• Provides up to $15,000 in Student Loan Repayment Assistance over 5 years

2. 100 % State Income Tax Credit

• Administered By Kansas Department of Revenue (KDOR)

• Filed with state taxes; only eligible with online filing on KDOR website


ROZ map


Student Loan Eligibility Requirements

  • You must have a newly established permanent address in a participating county (see map above), so long as that address was established after the county began participating in the program. 
  • Applicants must have an active student loan balance in their name, as well as an associate’s, bachelor’s or post-graduate degree prior to moving to the participating county.
  • To apply, you will need to provide proof of domicile in the ROZ County, proof of previous permanent residency (prior to earning your degree), transcripts with degree dates and student loan balance with distribution dates.

For questions regarding ROZ applications and eligibility please email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. for the quickest response.


For more information and applications please visit: 



Or see the Department of Commerce on Facebook at: