APPENDIX C

County Confirmation of Economic Development Organization

RESOLUTION DO-00

- A RESOLUTION confirming that a regional economic development organization has been established as required by the 74-50-116(c)(1), for the purpose of qualifying <u>the Southeast Kansas Regional Planning Commission</u>, including the Counties of <u>Allen, Anderson, Bourbon, Cherokee, Coffey, Crawford, Labette, Linn, Montgomery, Neosho,</u> <u>Wilson and Woodson</u> as a designated non-metropolitan business region.
- WHEREAS, A regional economic development organization, known as the Southeast Kansas Regional Planning Commission, has been established; and
- WHEREAS, the Southeast Kansas Regional Planning Commission was organized under the Kansas Statute 12-716 in 1974, and.
- WHEREAS, On December 1, 1977, <u>the Southeast Kansas Regional Planning Commission</u> was designated as designated as an Economic Development District by the United States Department of Commerce Economic Development Administration under Title IV of the Public Works and Economic Development Act of 1963 for the purpose of fostering and promoting economic growth and development, and
- WHEREAS, the Counties of <u>Allen, Anderson, Bourbon, Cherokee, Coffey, Crawford, Labette, Linn, Montgomery,</u> <u>Neosho, Wilson and Woodson</u> form the Southeast Kansas Regional Planning Commission by interlocal agreement, and
- WHEREAS, the <u>Southeast Kansas Regional Planning Commission</u> has a membership representative of all geographic areas of the Counties of <u>Allen, Anderson, Bourbon, Cherokee, Coffey, Crawford, Labette, Linn, Montgomery, Neosho, Wilson and Woodson</u>; and
- WHEREAS, The Board of County Commissioners of the Counties of Allen, Anderson, Bourbon, Cherokee, Coffey, Crawford, Labette, Linn, Montgomery, Neosho, Wilson and Woodson are represented on the Southeast Kansas Regional Planning Commission
- WHEREAS, The <u>Board of County Commissioners</u> of the County of <u>Woodson</u> is a supporting and active member of the <u>Southeast Kansas Regional Planning Commission</u>:
- NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the Board of County Commissioners of the County of <u>Woodson</u>: That <u>the</u> <u>Southeast Kansas Regional Planning Commission</u> meets the requirements of K.S.A. 74-50,116(c)(1); and
- BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED: That the Kansas Secretary of Commerce & Housing is hereby requested to acknowledge <u>the</u> <u>Southeast Kansas Regional Planning Commission</u> as a qualifying regional economic development organization for the purpose of approving the Counties of <u>Allen, Anderson, Bourbon, Cherokee, Coffey, Crawford, Labette,</u> <u>Linn, Montgomery, Neosho, Wilson and Woodson</u> as a designated non-metropolitan business region.

ADOPTED BY THE BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONER OF THE COUNTY OF WOODSON ON THIS

2000 DAY OF June 1990

COUNTY SEAL

SIGNED Chairman